Bryn Mawr College

Talk on States of Union

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

  March 15th 2012

Florida Together

Talk on States of Union

Kovens Conference Center
Florida International University's Biscayne Bay Campus.

  September 24th 2011


Featuring Alex Bag, Delia Brown, Francesca Coppa, Abigail Derecho, Amanda Filipacchi, Kurt Kauper, Leanne Shapton, and Alix Smith.

In his introduction to Slow Learner, Thomas Pynchon writes "Somewhere I had come up with the notion that one's personal life had nothing to do with fiction, when the truth, as everyone knows, is nearly the direct opposite." Avatar brings together a group of artists, writers, and academics to explore how and why characters are created in various narrative forms, with an emphasis on fictionalization as it intersects public and private life. We will look at how the fictionalized identities that have inhabited art, literature, online virtual worlds, and fan fiction have been used by their makers to expose and manipulate dominant culture narratives.

The artists and writers gathered together for this panel employ characters to various ends. They take established narratives and willfully misread them, confuse fantasy and representation, invoke and dismantle narrative conventions, lampoon and embrace pop culture. By engaging the panelists in a conversation about the identities that inhabit their works, Avatar seeks to explore the ramifications of constructing character. Colleen Asper will moderate the discussion, which will be followed by a Q&A with the audience.

Bellwether Gallery
New York, NY

November 27th 2007

Liturgy as Theater

A conversation with artist Alix Smith and art critic Charlie Finch

New York, NY
February 15th 2007

The Marie Walsh Sharpe Art Foundation: Space Program

"The Space Program, offered by The Marie Walsh Sharpe Art Foundation gives grants to 14 visual artists selected from almost nine hundred applicants. A jury consisting of artists Phong Bui, Karin Davie,
Charles LeDray, Harriet Shorr and Robert Storr selected the grantees for
The 2005 Space Program.

The Marie Walsh Sharpe Art Foundation has announced the winners of its annual "Space Program," which provides studio spaces in Tribeca for working artists. Winners are A.J. Bocchino, Elizabeth Brown, George Dombek, Rachel Frank, Hilary Harkness, Shirley Jaffe, Benjamin LaRocco, Kalup Linzy, Keiko Narahashi, Kirsten Nelson, Tim Roda, Catherine Ross, Alix Smith, James Everett Stanley and William Villalongo." Artnet News 4/19/05

September 2005 – August 2006

All Images on this site may not be reproduced, copied or manipulated without written permission of Alix Smith.... .......................................................................Copyright 1997-2008 Alix Smith. Website Terms of Use, Conditions, & Applicable Law